STYLE IN REVOLT | 12.17.2021 - 03.20.2022 | NOW OPEN | 

STYLE IN REVOLT | 12.17.2021 - 03.20.2022 | NOW OPEN | 

Dec 17 2021 - Mar 20 2022

Style in Revolt

For Free

Style in Revolt

In the first exhibition of its kind in China, ‘Style in Revolt’ tells the story of how streetwear and street culture became a global phenomenon, from the streets of London, New York and Tokyo to the world stage.  

Street culture is rooted in youth and revolt.It is as much a mindset as it is a creative output, or a fashion silhouette. This exhibition maps a modern-day street culture mythology, as told by the people who have shaped it. It traces the chain reactions of socio-economic shifts, conspicuous consumption, artistic movements such as Situationism and Postmodernism and the proliferation of technology.

This is about more than the T-shirt: it is a deconstruction of societal concepts and an experiment in putting them back together to fit the moment, about the recasting of and remixing of ideas and silhouettes.It can be said that street culture is a visual tale, one that adopts spaces and symbolic uniforms and recontextualizes them, layering them with new meaning through customization.

It is grounded in public art such as graffiti, and in the form of tangible relics of ‘merch’; in the early aesthetics of punk and DIY culture, and in crude adaptions of vintage, such as  T-shirts, army gear and workwear; in the graphics added on as marks of an era.
It is equally defined by ephemeral forums of thought and emotion, like a sonic pulse in music and nightclubs. We might think of this exhibition as a ‘visual playlist’ of commodities that reflect song lyrics, album designs and events. With the electronic era, visual remixes have become a form of content. This exhibition highlights the evolution of street culture’s manifestations in three movements. Exploring the cross-pollination of streetwear brands with music, art and media, it acknowledges the past and its context in the present, looking to the future of street culture as it continues to evolve. 
‘Style in Revolt’ communicates a collective ethos of creativity and ingenuity to inspire the next generation to make a meaningful contribution to street culture in China.

Discover

Style in Revolt

Watch

Venue

Come Visit Us

Located on the 4th floor of SKP-S T-10 is an art and cultural space that connects cutting-edge ideas future technology and conceptual retail.

For inquiries about T-10 appointments or future events please send an email to our team mingyang.yin@skp-beijing.com .

For group reservation inquiries please send an email to mingyang.yin@skp-beijing.com.

Full address is: 4F SKP-S 86 Jianguo Rd Chaoyang Beijing China.

Plan your visit

潮流,源自颠覆 | 2021年12月17日-2022年3月20日 | 现已开放 | 

潮流,源自颠覆 | 2021年12月17日-2022年3月20日 | 现已开放 | 

2021年12月17日 - 2022年3月20日

潮流,源自颠覆

免费观展

潮流,源自颠覆

「Style in Revolt潮流,源自颠覆」讲述了街头服饰与文化是如何从伦敦、纽约、东京的街头逐步走向世界,风靡全球的故事。

街头文化源于年轻与反叛。这既是一种创意输出的思维模式,亦或是一种时尚剪影。正如策划它的人所讲述的那样,这个展览描绘了一个现代街头神话。它追溯了社会经济变化、炫耀性消费、情境主义和后现代主义等艺术运动,以及技术发展带来的连锁反应。

街头文化不仅仅是关于一件T恤,更是对社会观念的解构,也是将思想理念与服装廓形重塑再组合的实验。可以说,街头文化是一个视觉传递的故事,它采用了空间性与象征性的形式,并通过具象实体的产品呈现,赋予其全新意义。

它以涂鸦等大众艺术为基础,通过实体的“商品”复刻形式呈现;在早期朋克和手作文化的审美基础上,对复古元素进行粗略改造,比如在T恤和工装中,加上可以诠释一个时代印记的平面设计图案。

街头文化是稍纵即逝的,就像音乐和夜店里的那些声浪。因此,我们可以把此次展览看做是反映音乐、艺术和文化事件的「视觉播放列表」。而随着电子时代的不断兴起,视觉混音已经成为一种展现形式。「Style in Revolt潮流,源自颠覆」展现了街头文化的三个演变和发展阶段。在相互影响和融合过程中,街潮品牌探索着他们与音乐、艺术媒介之间的关系,给观众展现街头文化经历过去、现在和未来无限的可能。

「Style in Revolt潮流,源自颠覆」传递了街头文化所凝聚的创造力和新颖设计,激励着下一代人对中国街头文化做出有意义的贡献。

发现

潮流,源自颠覆

观看

场地

来拜访我们

T-10位于SKP-S的4层,是一个连接前沿思想、未来科技和概念零售的艺术和文化空间。

如欲查询有关T-10的预约或未来活动,请发送电子邮件至我们的团队mingyang.yin@skp-beijing.com。

如欲查询团体预订,请发送电子邮件至mingyang.yin@skp-beijing.com。中国,北京市,朝阳区,建国路86号,SKP-S 四层

安排你的出行