T-10 / SKP-S | T-10 / SKP-S | T-10 / SKP-S | 

T-10 / SKP-S | T-10 / SKP-S | T-10 / SKP-S | 

Published on: May 24 2021

Juergen Teller: What Are We Talking About?

Juergen Teller

Text Ryan White

Few photographers could place a single image of a frog emerging from a man's mouth next to a miscellany of handbag campaigns and make these two things seem so naturally connected. But Juergen Teller – currently standing in his vast concrete studio in west London next to a miniature replica of "What Are We Talking About?" – has no trouble finding the threads that tie his disparate body of work together.

"For the last 30 years, I have been photographing handbags," he says, matter-of-factly. "A lot of fashion photographers don't necessarily enjoy photographing handbags because it's a thing they have to do to make money. I kind of wanted to bombard people with what's basically in the store downstairs and the consumer goods, where I make my money."

Handbags No.4, Steidl, 2019

These images of handbags reflect more than just commerce to Teller, as do the portraits of Chinese influencers ahead of them and the image of a woman in a Chanel suit holding two fish that meets you as you walk in, both taken from System. For his first solo exhibition in China, at the top of Beijing's vast SKP-S department store no less, Teller wants to comment on his own role within the fashion industry and the way it has shaped him as much as he's shaped it.

Wander further into the space, past images of forests, frogs and a trip to Iran, and you'll find perhaps his most subversive work to date; a magazine story entitled "Notes About My Work", which examined the backlash to his W magazine actors portfolio. "The response I got from the internet, did you see it?" he asks of the W story before reading out of one of the tweets about it. "Juergen Teller... the Hague awaits you for your war crimes".

Rather than respond to any of his critics who felt the images in W were far too ordinary – be that an anonymous tweeter or the Los Angeles Times  – Teller decided instead to photograph the magazine itself, collate the different reactions it received, and publish it in Pop magazine. “I even photographed Mickey Mouse," he says, laughing, pointing at the different memes that people online jokingly attributed to him once the story came out. "People get so upset; why are my pictures so normal? These celebrities at the beginning of the pandemic, they photographed themselves in their rich, flashy houses, and they got hammered for that too."

There are examples of his more traditional work in the show, too; images that one might have found on @juergentellerpage, a once-popular, now-deleted fan account of his archive that filled his absence on Instagram for a period. In the furthest corner of the exhibition lies a small room with an old image of Kate Moss inside it. "I guess it's right at the end, and it's intimate," he says of this picture, and another of longtime collaborator Charlotte Rampling that sits next to it. "And then you basically have to go back and reassess the whole thing again."

By this, Teller means that, rather than just leave out of this corner and return to the store, the viewer must turn back around and confront his frogs, or the vast forests first. They may come no closer to understanding how he connected these dots, but this is Juergen Teller, so one shouldn't expect to.

"I think it's interesting," he adds. "What can photography do these days, you know, and what reactions can you get?" If ever there was an artist keen to provoke but also positioned close enough to culture’s gilded centre to make it felt, it's him.

                                                                       Leg, Snails and Peaches No.6, POP magazine, London, 2018

T-10 / SKP-S | T-10 / SKP-S | T-10 / SKP-S | 

T-10 / SKP-S | T-10 / SKP-S | T-10 / SKP-S | 

发布日期 : 2021年5月24日

Juergen Teller:所议为何?

尤尔根·泰勒

瑞恩·怀特文

将一张记录了青蛙从男人嘴里冒出来画面的摄影作品,放到各式各样的手提包广告片旁边,并且还能让这两件事自然联系起来,很少有摄影师能做到。但是尤尔根·泰勒做到了。他站在伦敦西部的巨大水泥工作室里,向我展示“所议为何”摄影展的微型复制品模型,用自己的方式毫不费力地找到不同作品之间的共鸣性,并将它们串联起来。

“在过去的三十年,我一直在拍摄手袋,”他淡然地说道。“很多时尚摄影师不一定喜欢拍摄手袋,因为这只是他们为了赚钱不得不做的事情。而我想用人们在楼下商店里就能买到的东西来惊艳他们,这就是我用来谋生的方式。”

Handbags No.4, Steidl, 2019

对泰勒来说,拍摄手袋作品不仅仅是商业拍摄,更像是在拍摄“网红”肖像。走进展厅时,迎面而来的女模特身穿香奈儿套装、手拿两条鱼的作品,是为《System》杂志拍摄的。泰勒在中国的首次个展,将在全球最具标志性之一的北京高端时尚百货SKP-S顶层举行,借此展览,他想要评断他自己在时尚界的角色,时尚界塑造他的方式,和他是如何影响时尚界的。

再往里走,经过森林、青蛙和伊朗之旅的照片作品,你会发现泰勒迄今为止最具颠覆性的作品。有一组题为《我的工作笔记》的杂志故事,收录了对他在《W》杂志上拍摄的演员作品集的不满。“我从互联网上得到的回应,你看到了吗?”当问到《W》杂志这组作品时,他读起了一条相关的推特评论,“Juergen Teller……你就应该接受海牙国际法庭的审判。”

对于《W》杂志上对于泰勒摄影作品太过普通的批评,无论是来自匿名推特评论还是洛杉矶时报,泰勒都没有作出回应。他决定改为拍摄杂志本身,收集杂志收到后的不同反应,并将它们发布到《POP》杂志上。“我甚至还拍摄过米老鼠。”他一边笑着一边指着那些他拍摄的作品,但他们之后都成为了人们议论纷纷的表情包。“人们开始变得议论纷纷:为什么我的照片如此普通?疫情初期,这些名人在他们自己华丽的房子里自拍,这也让他们受到了抨击。”

展览中也有泰勒较为传统的作品,之前被展示在@juergentellerpage 账号中。这曾经是一个很受欢迎的Instagram账号,它填补了泰勒在Instagram上的空白,但现在也被遗憾删除停更。 在展览最远的角落有一个小房间,里面有一张凯特·摩丝的旧照片。 “我猜它应该被放在最后,而且展示的是比较亲密的那张,”泰勒在谈到这张照片时给出了这样的想法。在这张照片旁的另一张,是他长期拍摄的夏洛特·兰普林。“然后你就会想要回到原点,重新再看一遍所有东西。”

泰勒的意思是,比起当参观者离开这个角落直接回到商场,他们一定要再回去直面那组青蛙、或是广阔的森林。即使穿梭其中,参观者也无法理解泰勒是通过什么关键点将这些联系起来。但他是尤尔根·泰勒,人们本就不应该指望自己能理解他。

“我认为这很有趣,”他补充道。 “现在的摄影可以做什么,你会从中得到什么样的反应?” 如果有一位时尚摄影师足够接近行业文化的核心,又能激起大众的讨论,让人们感受到他的存在,那这个人就是尤尔根·泰勒。

                                                                       Leg, Snails and Peaches No.6, POP magazine, London, 2018